U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-11-2013, 06:22 AM

12 posts, read 16,851 times

Advertisements

At the company I work as a recruiter for (a very large company with offices all over the world) one of the crazy requests the hiring managers ask for is for the recruiters to look into the finalists LinkedIn profiles.

They are looking for two things:

1) A very well written profile with a full description of the applicants background including significant information on what they accomplished above and beyond their job descriptions. Accomplishments are taken far more seriously than the tasks they did.

(I CAN UNDERSTAND THIS, seems logical)

2) How many people are they linked to on LinkedIn? And who are they on the organizational chart. Are his/her contacts lower level people or are they people who count? They want us to count up the number of contacts who have the titles Manager/Director/Vice President in comparison to non management.

(If the finalist is not on LinkedIn then a red flag goes up and the hiring manager assume they have something to hide or are not social or are not into technology!

Last edited by A Recruiter; 07-11-2013 at 06:55 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-11-2013, 06:28 AM

2,633 posts, read 5,518,245 times
That makes the title of your thread totally misleading.