U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-20-2013, 10:42 AM

13 posts, read 17,626 times

Advertisements

My resume sucks, mostly because my work background sucks. My wife is an attorney and helped me put it together, but I get the feeling that I've got way too many different jobs on it.

Quick background, I graduated from college in 2005 with a BA in history. since then, I have not been able to find any career track positions at all where a history degree is believed to be useful. So, I have been working lots of different jobs, everything from a 3 month stint as a Hollywood Video manager, to a 1 month stint as an Applebee's Manager, various server/hospitality jobs, a job as a snowboard instructor, lots of huge gaps, and lots of employers I don't even include.

I don't even remember everyone I have worked for, and I definitely don't remember even close to accurate dates for employment. Since I don't remember them, and I have huge gaps to fill, I just stretch the dates to fit (not a good idea I know).

It also didn't help I was in CA right at the beginning of the recession in 2008, and stayed there until 2012. I couldn't find a job to save my life. Was on unemployment off and on for years.

I helped to take care of some family members when they were sick, and I used to keep that on my resume to explain what I was doing during periods of unemployment, but I was told it was hurting me so I took it off.