U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-04-2013, 05:22 PM

231 posts, read 251,882 times

Advertisements

I'm a recent college graduate. I have an interview next week for a 10/hr "cash counting" position. I'm kind of worried that If I take the job it will set me farther back from finding a position in my field. I understand that the farther you get from graduation, the more difficult it becomes to find employment in your field.

I'm living at my parents right now, so I'm not desperate for money (I am however desperate to move out).

It's a full time job so It would put my GIS job search on hold.... In addition, I'm sure I'd have to stay at this job for at least 6-10 months to be in good standing.

If I happen to get offered the job should I take it and not think twice? Or should I consider rejecting it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-04-2013, 05:24 PM

955 posts, read 1,933,986 times
Can you do it part-time so you get some experience but at the same time have time to look for other jobs and interview?

Old 08-04-2013, 05:30 PM

231 posts, read 251,882 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCmum View Post
Can you do it part-time so you get some experience but at the same time have time to look for other jobs and interview?
I'm pretty sure it's a 9-5 Monday through Friday kind of job.

Old 08-04-2013, 06:37 PM

12,680 posts, read 15,126,196 times