U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-07-2013, 12:50 PM

305 posts, read 496,553 times

Advertisements

I'm growing very frustrated. I graduated from school with a certificate in Multimedia Design Technology. I have certifications in Adobe Dreamweaver and Photoshop which according to my advisors should be enough to land me a job. I worked my ass off taking these tests and passing them and now these tests, and these certificates in Adobe mean nothing now.

I go through many interviews and got turned down on each attempt. I got rejected from 2 Graphic/Web Design jobs, and 2 internships. It's been especially hard to find a job that doesn't say "Need 8 years of Graphic Design Experience + 4 year degree." Even Entry level jobs require 2 years of experience. [ What's the purpose of entry level again?!]

I got rejected for not passing an aptitude test which consists of solving 40 math questions in 12 minutes.(Mostly College Algebra) What the hell does that have to do with creating websites or designing art for clients?