U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-09-2014, 09:44 PM

1,378 posts, read 2,113,826 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone,

I'm a recent college grad, I interviewed with a recruiter from At&t and I'll be having a 2nd interview soon. The company uses a company called HireRight to do the background check before they hire anyone.

Here's the catch, on my resume, I listed 2 work experiences, I worked at a family owned restaurant for 3 months for free because it wasn't doing too well financially. I worked like any other waiter but no pay. The other was an unpaid internship at an accounting office during the summer. On my resume, I simply wrote Waiter-----September 2010 to December 2010. And Office Assistant------January 2011 to March 2011.

So basically the background company won't find a trace that I worked at these places. My father can verify I worked at the restaurant. But the accounting office last time I checked went under, and I never kept in touch with the owner.

In my upcoming interview should I discuss this problem with the interviewer? I really have no idea what to do.

Thank you very much for hearing me out everyone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-09-2014, 09:55 PM

4,826 posts, read 7,269,892 times
Your resume isn't just supposed to list your position. It should be listed

Sept 2010-December 2010 Waiter
Joe's Family Restaurant, Topeka KS
Here you would put a description of your job duties and responsibilities

Below all your work experience, you put your degrees and educational achievements