U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 01-31-2014, 06:50 AM

1,480 posts, read 2,302,267 times

Advertisements

Back when I was a manager I was generally shocked how ill informed most applicants for jobs I talked to.

Yes, some of them had done a one minute review of the company website and had some knowledge about our company. But what they had no knowledge of was the basic duties, responsibilities, challenges, and expectations of the job they were applying for. They never bothered to really look at the job description, or the advertisement for the position opening.

This really put them at a disadvantage. It was similar to a sales person coming and trying to sell a product and not knowing anything about the needs of the customer. They barely knew about their own background but knew almost nothing about the organization's needs.

So, when you interviewed for a job, what did you do to understand the position you were applying for in advance of the interview so you could create talking points to sell your background against the needs of the position and the company?

Old 01-31-2014, 07:27 AM

43,170 posts, read 41,773,101 times
To be honest, an applicant can't know EVERYTHING about a position.

Sure, there's a job description, but lots of employers leave out stuff they expect you to do. WHat an employer means when they post the job and what the employee understands when they READ the post are often pretty far apart.

Old 01-31-2014, 07:52 AM

1,049 posts, read 2,519,181 times