Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-06-2015, 09:44 AM

115 posts, read 226,305 times

Advertisements

After I turned 50, job hunting clearly became much more difficult than in the past. I have lots of experience but no college degree, a great work ethic, always well rated by my past employers and a great disdain for the ridiculous expectations of employers. (lots of folks look good on paper).

I quit a job I hated almost two years ago, which was very difficult to get in the first place, decided I could do better in a thriving economy so I took my savings and moved to Colorado, with a super low unemployment rate. I had several interviews lined up for the week I was arriving there but they did not materialize, some of the positions had been filled in the three days it took me to drive there. I had lived in Denver for a total of 15 years throughout my adult life so it was a familiar place and it had always been easy to survive on very little there. I originally left Colorado because snow is not my friend but thought I would try to stop being a big baby and suck it up. There are lots of jobs in Denver, most of the jobs I qualify for were not going to meet the increasing cost of living there, (rent for a dumpy apartment went from 700 to 900 in a year and a half) most rents are far in excess of that.