U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-26-2016, 08:14 PM

341 posts, read 1,015,822 times

Advertisements

Finally got confirmation for my interview Friday. I am giving myself an hour in car parking is hard. When I attended the university as a student I remember it being hard but I think it may be a different story for faculty and visitors...

Anyways, I want to prepare as much as I can for this job. The email stated, "
The interview will be a group interview with myself (Assistant Director), Susie W (Director), and Jane Smith (Payroll Manager) which will take approximately 1 hour. At the conclusion, I will be available to go over any additional questions related to benefits."

Maybe I'm looking too much into it because I'm a bit nervous. But group interview, so you think she meant with a group of other candidates with the managers or a panel interview?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-26-2016, 08:21 PM

3,892 posts, read 1,645,447 times
Yeah, I did a group interview a few years ago for my current job at a rather large company.

Basically I showed up along with half a dozen other applicants. They gave us a tour, gave a couple of presentations describing benefits packages, etc. After a while they split us up among several supervisors and we each had an individual interview, where I assume they filled out a checklist/form/etc. We had lunch as a group with a different supervisor. Then later about half of us got a call with a job offer.

Good experience overall. And it's been a good job too.