U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-28-2016, 05:01 PM

2,897 posts, read 1,076,866 times

Advertisements

At what point would you think it would be safe to say that one should leave the area they are in and go elsewhere to look for work?

I personally have been in the same area for the past nearly 24 years. I have a Computer Science Bachelors and an Associates in Arts and Associates in Science. I mainly am seeing ads for customer service, nursing, and truck driving where I am at.

While there are some programming jobs around me, they are few and almost always require years of experience that I don't have.

I have, of course, tried to apply for jobs outside my field, but have had no luck. I have applied for stuff in the more urban areas, but only got 1 interview from that, actually 2, but one was a 6 month contract, was about an hour and a half from where I live, and in an area (Naperville) that would be too expensive for my budget but rather far to go to every day, and I was wary of that one and so decided not to go to the(interview, which, by the way was scheduled the very day after the initial phone screen, and the other one I went to, the one for a full time position, that was also over an hour from home, that one I didn't get either.

Now, it's been 2.5 years since graduation, and still no job. If I had the dough, I'd move, but since I don't and am stuck at home, it's really hard to do.