U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-27-2016, 06:52 PM

108 posts, read 81,816 times

Advertisements

I worked as an Executive Assistant/Medical Transcriptionist for 19 years (1993 to 2012), resigned on very good terms (my former boss Cheryl is my friend on Facebook and wrote a glowing recommendation letter...we still speak to this day), then I moved out-of-state in summer of 2012 to join my fiancé and we had a child about 10 months later. I have been a stay-at-home mom ever since. Now that my fiancé will be taking early retirement, I want to dip my toes back into the workforce (not because I have to, but because I want to). I want to work part-time in retail or clerical. Should I list the four-year work gap on my résumé by indicating that I chose to stay home with my child?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-27-2016, 07:08 PM

10,072 posts, read 4,693,641 times
Leave it off from what all the advice I've been given (very limited though). If they ask about gap, you can explain it in interview. I just don't think it being on resume/application will be all that useful.

If it is just a "gap", you could just leave the years/dates off of the old job(s). Then they won't know when you started working/stopped until they ask at interview. In which case you can explain then. Just focus on the skills/duties you obtained and not the "job" itself. Since in theory you should still have those same skills from performing those duties.

Old 02-27-2016, 08:00 PM

13 posts, read 6,554 times
Quote: