U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 03-02-2016, 08:34 AM
 
155 posts, read 138,071 times
Reputation: 26

Advertisements

Would it be harmful to a resume to put knowledge of a language even tough you have no proficiency test to support this?
Can you put knowledge of a language if you are at a basic or intermediary level?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 03-02-2016, 08:59 AM
 
62 posts, read 53,634 times
Reputation: 62
Sure, just say that it is basic or intermediate knowledge instead of fluent.

I listed a language that I'm fluent but never bothered to have a proficiency test, if the proficiency test was necessary they could just ask for it in the job listing or in the interview ask if I can take it. Or they could just get somebody that happens know that language to access my level on the spot.

I think is only harmful if you are inflating your skills and get caught.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-03-2016, 09:57 AM
 
Location: East of Seattle since 1992, originally from SF Bay Area
29,806 posts, read 54,455,776 times
Reputation: 31111
I would say as a hiring manager that I would only list it if it could be beneficial to your potential employer, and then be honest about your level of fluency. You never know when one of the interviewers speaks that same language and "tests" you with a question in that language. We used to actually pay a slight premium to people that spoke a second language where I worked in the S.F. Bay Area, but at my current employer there is no advantage to it except for specific positions that handle international marketing, and they are hired with specific language requirements.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-03-2016, 10:18 AM
 
2,008 posts, read 2,192,686 times
Reputation: 3104
yes, always put languages you know. Just don't say you're fluent if you're not. Any additional languages are looked on favorably where I work (Fortune 100)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-05-2016, 06:41 PM
 
2,347 posts, read 1,453,659 times
Reputation: 3112
I put my second language (proficient) on my resume. It won't help me get any jobs (it's not a language in demand anywhere I might be looking), but I think it still adds a positive spin to my resume.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top