U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-03-2016, 02:18 PM

2 posts, read 3,832 times

Advertisements

Sorry if this gets long.

Am in the process of an employment background check for a Fortune 500 company. I'm perfect for the role and I'm ready to go!

My story:

In 1995 I graduated from a Technical Computer School (before they turned out to be scams) with a CERTIFICATE in Programming/Networking. I accelerated through the curriculum and graduated with flying colors. So much so, that they hired me to teach the day I graduated! The school was accredited and offered an ASSOCIATES degree. So, my programming CERT + the other CERTS offered (computer technician, desktop publishing, etc...) all made up to get the ASSOCIATES degree.

But, I only had the Programming/Networking CERTIFICATE at this point.

So I was hired as a teacher and one of the conditions was that I would complete the rest of the certifications so I could teach them. Makes perfect sense. I was no longer enrolled as a student, but was an employee but they offered the rest of the courses for free. Who at 25 years old would pass that up?

So I taught at night and continued the school (on their dime) during the day. Took me a few more months but tested out of all the certification programs and Graduated! Got a nice computer print out with my ASSOCIATE'S in COMPUTER PROGRAMMING and we had cake and the other instructors took me out for beers afterwards.

Again, this school was accredited.