Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-08-2017, 07:06 AM

486 posts, read 991,557 times

Advertisements

I have been applying for jobs for a year. I am still unemployed. I have 25+ years experience in various industries, 3 degrees, no criminal history, excellent credit and references. I have applied to 203 jobs since March 2016, I have been on 24 interviews. Only one job offer, for a part-time job, $13/hr. I turned it down last July, because I thought I had enough experience and education to warrant $15/hr and I need full-time work in order to survive and live.

What a fool I was...

Fast forward to March 2017 and I am still unemployed and facing homelessness.

So I have decided to apply for part-time minimum wage jobs, entry level jobs. You know what many employed people say to the unemployed "Clean toilets! Why be so picky?"

OK. So this morning I decide to apply to Hotel Housekeeping jobs on Indeed. Wow. Just Wow. Over 300 people applied to one hotel housekeeping job, part-time, minimum wage. What are the chances I get *that* job? Are they going to peruse my resume and decide to hire some egg-head with 3 degrees, over the other 300 people who applied? I doubt it.

I also saw a part-time minimum wage job for a data entry person at a produce market. The hours were 3 am - 7 am. Over 175 people applied to that position, even with the crappy hours. The job market is in the toilet, and I don't see Trump doing anything to make it better.