U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-23-2018, 04:59 AM

22 posts, read 6,075 times

Advertisements

My husband and I are moving to the Raleigh area but we'll need to look for jobs beforehand. Our current apartment lease is up end of May. I work in healthcare administration (credentialing) and my husband works in purchasing/business administration. From what it looks like, we shouldn't have issues finding either one of those jobs. But, when do we get the ball rolling? Do I start looking in January?

I got a Google voice number with a NC area code to help me not get turned away due to a non-local number. I've also have acquired connections on LinkedIn to help me. Any advice is appreciated!
Quick reply to this message

Old 10-23-2018, 05:12 AM

5,684 posts, read 5,928,269 times
I read January is the biggest hiring month of the year.

I would love to read about your journey. I seriously considered Raleigh but decided against it. Good luck!

Old 10-23-2018, 05:31 AM

28,484 posts, read 62,084,629 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpar417 View Post
My husband and I are moving to the Raleigh area but we'll need to look for jobs beforehand.
Our current apartment lease is up end of May.
Have you talked to your landlord about breaking the lease early?
Have you reviewed your lease (and local law) to KNOW what obligations you really have?
Do you know the term 'mitigation'?

Quote:
But, when do we get the ball rolling? Do I start looking in January?
If you're serious there is little reason to delay starting. Just go about it well.