U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-26-2019, 04:07 PM

23 posts, read 10,159 times

Advertisements

I thought I would repost this in the correct thread:

I am currently looking for a new job as my contract expires in a month. I have applied to over 100+ jobs in the past 3 days and have gotten 6 rejections and 2 interviews. I don't know if its my experience, the jobs I am applying to or my lack of education. I work in IT and it is known that there is always a high demand for IT personnel, whether it be in security, networking, management or support. I KNOW I am doing something wrong because when I applied for my current job 4 years ago I got the job after 2 weeks I applied for it and during the same time I would get 2-3 interviews a day and for the 40 jobs I applied to I got responses from 25-30 of them. The rest were rejections.

I have attached my resume for review here: Hopeless....

Any assistance or advice would be appreciated. Perhaps I am just applying in quantity without looking at the specific job requirements and not tailoring my resume to each job, or I lack a degree or I have been in the same position for the past 3.5 years. Perhaps I am not relaying my achievements or job description in detail. I don't know but please give me your feedback I am losing my mind here! Thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-01-2019, 06:36 PM

2,451 posts, read 697,327 times
Your resume is too general.

What exactly are you doing? Your resume comes across as a "jack of all trades master of none"