U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-28-2019, 09:02 AM

15 posts, read 6,667 times

Advertisements

Has anyone here had the pleasure (or displeasure) of working at in an Academic environment full time post graduation? I have a Masters degree in public sector work, so it would be ideal for me to try to wiggle myself into a State University position, with plans to maybe pursue a Ph.D from said University.

That said, are there any benefits that these sorts of jobs would have over private sectors? I assume benefits/Security are the biggest two.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-28-2019, 11:11 AM

9,778 posts, read 16,986,698 times
Benefits and pay may or may not be on par with the private sector; it really depends on the university. As long as you are not at a university that is in financial trouble/is financially mismanaged, job security is virtually guaranteed as long as you do your job. Pay raises are steady, and vacation accrual will go up based on whatever tiers are established. Working full time and trying to earn a PhD is a lengthy and time consuming process. Tuition remission may not cover PhD programs, or it may just cover programs in higher education administration. What type of job are you looking to get? Do you have relevant work experience?

Old 02-28-2019, 02:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe from dayton View Post