U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-04-2019, 02:17 PM

29 posts, read 9,629 times

Advertisements

I have an employer (federal contractor) that hired me recently for a full-time job at the Pentagon as a custodian. I have a college degree, but have been in custodial employment since graduation due to onset of mental illness following graduation.

My dilemma (a good one to have after five months of unemployment) is that I also have very good chance of landing employment at Georgetown University following a panel interview 10 days ago. Like the feds, Georgetown is like a bureaucracy and it's taken me about 14 months to get anywhere with them. I'm still waiting to hear the outcome of employment decision there and have followed up with references and employee award for last position.

The third "iron in the fire" is TSA employment at Reagan National Airport. I have a contingent offer of employment from them, contingent on background check coming back clean. Benefits are solid at this job, but it would be more stressful than the others. I might bow out due to the fact that even thinking about the job stresses me out. I was offered the job because I passed the computer exam and met the minimum qualifications.