U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Religion and Spirituality > Judaism
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-03-2012, 07:58 PM

107 posts, read 97,644 times

Advertisements

I'll try to keep it short and let you know what might be relevant to my question(s).

I have no religious background. I know my great grandmother was a Christian because she had a picture of the grown baby Jesus on her wall and she gave us grand kids Bibles on "special occasions" but we never talked about God or Jesus. I have no idea if my grandparents or parents were religious because none of them ever mentioned God, or Jesus, or anything else about religion.

I, personally have always believed in something. I've never believed in nothing. As a teenager and in my 20s I attempted to study the Bible in a handful of attempts, but it just never felt right to me. I always felt uncomfortable with what was being taught, original sin, etc. I would never last more than a few weeks before I stopped studying.

Sometime around March of this year, I began to try to figure out why so many people were anti-Israel. In that process I decided to find out if there was something about Judaism that freaked people out. As I watched different documentaries and especially "Jewish 101" with Rabbi Mark Golub, Judaism seemed so sane. I didn't have that creepy feeling of discomfort that I felt when I had been studying the Bible. What I have experienced so far has me thinking that I want to convert to Judaism.

Bad idea?