Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri > Kansas City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-26-2011, 07:49 PM

2 posts, read 2,328 times

Advertisements

Hello!
I'm sorry if this has already been asked a lot but I am going to be moving to Kansas City from Massachusetts with a UHaul towing a car around July 29th. I have zero experience with the kind of weather that the plains get and I am nervous to be driving because of tornadoes and such. I was just wondering if anyone could give me any tips? Has anyone ever road tripped like this before? Any advice on if this is feasible in two days? it is a 21 hr drive. Thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-27-2011, 07:45 AM

12,063 posts, read 31,609,042 times
First of all, the plains are well west of KC, so you won't actually drive through them at all. Really you'll be driving through a mix of hills and flatlands through the midwest.

Tornadoes are pretty much a non-issue -- you're not driving through "tornado alley" and it's very late in the season for them anyway. You might have to drive through a thunderstorm -- in a UHaul I'd suggest pulling aside and waiting it out as they don't always handle well or have the best tires.

You say it's 21 hours-- I wonder if that's a google estimate -- you'll need to budget at least 15% more time because your progress in the UHaul will be significantly slower. If you're driving with someone else, you might be able to do it in 2 days, but alone I think you'd likely need 3.

Hope that helps!

Old 06-27-2011, 01:02 PM