U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri > Kansas City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-29-2012, 07:30 PM
JMZ JMZ started this thread

24 posts, read 85,091 times

Advertisements

So, I will be moving to Kansas City and I am wondering whether its best to commute or get a place relatively close to work.

The office is on the southern side of 435 near Warnall. I'm familiar with KC, but the specific neighborhoods are another story. Also, Im only starting out entry-level so the cost of living in KCK may be too much right now.

Would it be a pain to live in Northland and commute down south or even live out by Lee's Summit and commute in? I've inquired about a few apartments near this area of work, and one in particular that was recommended comes to mind "Coach House". It seemed okay but some of the ratings were wishy-washy. I did find some nice apartments in Northland that fit my budget, safety, and quietness.

Im not real excited about living "in" the city, so I've been looking else where for a suitable residence.

Is this a bad idea to commute? Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks All!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-29-2012, 08:16 PM

10,705 posts, read 18,504,291 times
Why not just live around 435 and Wornall? The only reason I wouldn't live there is if you had kids and wanted better public schools. That's a pretty suburban area, it's built up, but still suburban and safe yet close to the beltway, the suburbs and the city.