U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri > Kansas City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-02-2012, 10:53 AM

159 posts, read 153,365 times

Advertisements

I'm posting this same question to several different cities that we're considering relocating to. I'm trying to gauge the local culture specifically within the IT-industry in the following points (feel free to skip my personal details below each question)...

Experience, or Education?
Basically, can one get a decent job without a degree? I have 10+ years experience in IT, and some certs and trainings, but have no formal degree. This has never caused so much as a hiccup in my career before, but I imagine some places it may be very difficult to secure a job without a degree based on the local culture - How is KC in that category? My most recent position was about 3 years as a programmer and DB analyst - I loved that work and would like to continue on that track if possible, I don't want to be blocked by a cultural requirement for the degree ;)

What's the job market like?