U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Kentucky
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-13-2007, 01:22 PM

145 posts, read 466,531 times

Advertisements

I am currently a resident at UK's hospital and my wife and I live in lexington. She is from Owensboro and is desperate to move back. I am from northern kentucky and can't stand if down there. It's not the people..they are wonderful. It is the fact that things I do here and back home that I take for granted won't be available to me down there. For example no more going to the bengals games or reds games..if I want to do that it's a four plus hour drive. There isn't a mall anywhere around (evansville for the record doesn't count...it's a fourty five mintue drive.) I feel like my career would suffer as well. The hospital is small and old and doesn't have the technology Lexington and Louisvilles do. I worry about the quality of health care in the area. I am catholic and want my children in good catholic shools. In northen kentucky and lexington there are a tremendous amount of them to choose from. From what i've read there is only one called owensboro catholic that seems marginal at best. Basically I feel isolated down there. She loves it because that's what she's grown up with but I ask her if its so great then why haven't any of her friends moved back since they finished college. I'm sorry to rant but I am concerned about living there. Any one from the area want to shed some positive spin on it. Like I said, my problem isn't the people it's the town. It has industrial plants in it's downtown..some soybean factory and for the third bi