U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Kentucky
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-05-2006, 10:56 PM

5 posts, read 53,194 times

Advertisements

I am currently living in Virginia Beach, but I am looking for a change soon. Kentucky seems to be a good match. From what I can see I am sure that I would prefer Lexington over Louisville. I am an elementary school teacher, and my wife is a restaurant manager. Are the job markets for those professions doing well in Lexington and the surrounding areas? What are some of the things fun to do around the area?

My main concerns:
Crime
Friendliness (especially those in stores and eating establishments)
Climate (want all 4 seasons, with mild winters and summers)
Traffic

Any input is appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-05-2006, 11:01 PM

1 posts, read 2,762 times
Default Come on Down! The Price Might be Right!

What about Mississippi if ya'll want to venture further afield ---- there was an article in the local paper recently that I recall- The Clarion Ledger-- about needing teachers and restaurant folk... on the Miss. Gulf Coast -... everything will be "new" Might wanna check it out...

Old 07-08-2006, 03:53 AM

108 posts, read 698,173 times
well, since I can't talk you into moving to the Ville (sigh), I guess I'll suck it up and tell you about our little neighbor to the East (Lexington).