Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nevada > Las Vegas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-27-2007, 02:12 PM

84 posts, read 360,146 times

Advertisements

I'm on the way out, just curious what people make in this town?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-27-2007, 07:23 PM

278 posts, read 1,084,082 times
I'm a substitute teacher. My hubby makes the money for the family in advertising sales.

Old 09-27-2007, 08:26 PM

15,756 posts, read 38,204,096 times
Well we sell Real Estate. We lost money last year after a couple of nice years. We will do better this year Though it will not the Forbes 1000. I doubt we will do a lot better than minimum wage is you actually add up the hours we put in. Note though that, even losing money we get by...we have other income and "self employed" provides certain benefits that amplify that existing income. Do not try to break into Residental RE at this juncture...it is a disaster. You will be eaten alive if you don't have deep roots in the business.

I also know some others...Valet parkers on the strip make more than 75K. Exotic Dancers do over $100K at places like the Crazy Horse II. Some sweet young things do twice that.

House cleaner with a crew of four does 80K.

Custom contractor who does 2 or 3 houses a year does over 250K.

Journeyman Electrician gets well past 80K.

Prison guard who works all opportunities does over 70K.

I had some of the culinary numbers somewhere but I can't find them. They are I think in the public record.

Old 09-27-2007, 08:42 PM

2,990 posts, read 8,712,823 times