U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nevada > Las Vegas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-09-2017, 02:42 PM

1 posts, read 314 times

Advertisements

Hello, I am currently a student preparing to enter into my Physical Therapy Assistant program next September. For the time being, I have landed a job as a Dental Assistant! It's been a great job so far as I train, and I absolutely love being able to build professional relationships/mentors.

Here is the dilemma.
I would love to take one great trip before I enter into my program. Everyone says they intend to travel after they've established a career- but few people end up having the money or independence to do so. I have enough money to pay for a trip to Thailand right now- HOWEVER I WOULD NEED TWO WEEKS OFF.

I am not looking for payed time off- and I only work three days a week at this office. Those weeks I would need are over 9 months away and I will have been employed for a little over a year by this time.

Do you think this is a reasonable request? or have I missed my time to travel?
(note: this is a small office- close to the size of an outpatient center for many medical professions)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-09-2017, 03:34 PM

1,828 posts, read 1,265,176 times
I'm not sure what you're asking exactly.

If it's a delayed start as a PTA or time off soon after accepting a job as a PTA the same rules apply as with any other job, you need to let your potential employer know you have planned and booked a vacation