U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nevada > Las Vegas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-30-2019, 09:23 AM
 
Location: Mesa, AZ
123 posts, read 18,393 times
Reputation: 117

Advertisements

Which brands would you recommend for buying a new router since the ARRIS brand one which comes with Cox cable is only so-so, perhaps since their internet service is wireless as I unhappily discovered after switching from DirecTV this past July?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-30-2019, 03:34 PM
 
673 posts, read 244,455 times
Reputation: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marv201 View Post
Which brands would you recommend for buying a new router since the ARRIS brand one which comes with Cox cable is only so-so, perhaps since their internet service is wireless as I unhappily discovered after switching from DirecTV this past July?
Arris is the old Motorola. Their modems are fine but I would use a name brand router like a Netgear or Linksys attached to it. The cheapies can't keep up and tend to have flakey software running on them.

Combo units are almost always inferior to separate devices. If you're using a combo unit I would bridge it as a modem and buy a separate router.

If you don't use the modem the cable company or phone company gives you, they will typically refuse to troubleshoot anything unless you replace it with one of theirs.

I've been through several cable modems over the years and in my experience the tuners in them start to go bad after about 5 years and they start disconnecting all the time.

I've never had DSL modem die on me unless it was hit by lightning...

I have an Arris modem attached to a Linksys WRT1900AC which has been a pretty reliable router. I used the same one on CenturyLink as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-30-2019, 03:57 PM
 
Location: Las Vegas
2,073 posts, read 1,458,430 times
Reputation: 1606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marv201 View Post
Which brands would you recommend for buying a new router since the ARRIS brand one which comes with Cox cable is only so-so, perhaps since their internet service is wireless as I unhappily discovered after switching from DirecTV this past July?
I had good results with ASUS AC1900 Dual-Band Gigabit Router.

I bought a refurbished unit for around $50, worked really well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-26-2019, 11:14 AM
 
Location: Las Vegas, NV
608 posts, read 390,529 times
Reputation: 339
I just bought a home in Mountains Edge and they have CL fiber there, but the max speed is 100 Mbps. I think I may get it anyway, as it's $40 less than I pay for the same speed from Cox.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-19-2019, 02:34 PM
 
Location: Las Vegas, NV
608 posts, read 390,529 times
Reputation: 339
Update on CenturyLink. I set up my appointment for March 2nd. No installation tech ever showed. Never heard a peep from the company. As such I hooked up my Cox modem and it worked so I called Cox and had them transfer my service. Fast forward to today. I contacted CenturyLink about the tech not showing. They proceed to tell me my appointment is scheduled for the 27th. I ask them how that's possible since no one ever spoke to me. I then tell them I don't want to continue on through the process of getting their service. They try to transfer me to their retention department! I never even had the service successfully installed! One of the worst customer service experiences with any company ever.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-19-2019, 04:38 PM
 
Location: Las Vegas
2,073 posts, read 1,458,430 times
Reputation: 1606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpypotpie View Post
Update on CenturyLink. I set up my appointment for March 2nd. No installation tech ever showed. Never heard a peep from the company. As such I hooked up my Cox modem and it worked so I called Cox and had them transfer my service. Fast forward to today. I contacted CenturyLink about the tech not showing. They proceed to tell me my appointment is scheduled for the 27th. I ask them how that's possible since no one ever spoke to me. I then tell them I don't want to continue on through the process of getting their service. They try to transfer me to their retention department! I never even had the service successfully installed! One of the worst customer service experiences with any company ever.
How did you schedule the 1st appointment?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-19-2019, 06:33 PM
 
47 posts, read 13,852 times
Reputation: 17
I'm using my cell phones Hot Spot feature . Our cell phone plan has 4 phone lines with unlimited everything including data for $100 per month.
Does anyone else have or use the hot spot feature on their phone for home internet?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-19-2019, 08:22 PM
 
30 posts, read 8,112 times
Reputation: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiskey-Pete View Post
I'm using my cell phones Hot Spot feature . Our cell phone plan has 4 phone lines with unlimited everything including data for $100 per month.
Does anyone else have or use the hot spot feature on their phone for home internet?
Thatís a great idea, who is your carrier if you donít mind sharing? They donít have a data plan limit?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-19-2019, 11:20 PM
 
171 posts, read 91,127 times
Reputation: 233
i just downgraded my Cox internet and saved so many every month and its still as good as the better Internet I had amazingly. I can't tell the difference.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-20-2019, 04:29 PM
 
Location: Las Vegas, NV
1,167 posts, read 1,208,054 times
Reputation: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by equid0x View Post
I have an Arris modem attached to a Linksys WRT1900AC which has been a pretty reliable router. I used the same one on CenturyLink as well.
That is the same setup that I use, and it works perfectly. I have had three routers, all of them Linksys, and I only replaced them when the technology advanced. I have never had one go down.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2016 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nevada > Las Vegas
View detailed profiles of:
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. | Please obey Forum Rules | Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top