U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Legal Immigration
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-22-2009, 05:13 PM

166 posts, read 401,723 times

Advertisements

Would it be easier for me to enter/get a job here if i have a degree from an American university?
A college back home is doing a new degree in which i spend 2 years at an irish university and 2 years a Northeastern in Boston (icl. a semester of work experience, hopefully in NYC)

The degree is in international business, and i get 2 degrees, one from Dublin City Uni and one from Northeastern University.

Would this improve my chances of getting into the USA?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-22-2009, 06:19 PM

923 posts, read 1,355,918 times
Try the green card lottery if you or your parents were born in Ireland

Old 08-22-2009, 06:25 PM

786 posts, read 1,742,481 times
This would certainly give you contacts in the US which would assist in an employer sponsored work visa.

Old 08-22-2009, 07:24 PM

166 posts, read 401,723 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter the Brit View Post
Try the green card lottery if you or your parents were born in Ireland
I was going to as im British, but my parents are both Irish, but i think theres some law that says they had to be resident in Ireland at the time of my birth (the were both living in London)

Old 08-22-2009, 08:18 PM

184 posts, read 607,512 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by ire2usa View Post