U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Long Island
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-22-2010, 11:10 PM

5 posts, read 5,824 times

Advertisements

Hi Everyone!
My husband has accepted a job (pays around 90k/year) in Holtsville. We are originally from Southern California and I know NOTHING about Long Island, New York, etc. I am a teacher, however, we need to live off of his income for at least a year until I find a job. We have two young children (6 & 7) and a good school is VERY important to us. So... considering that I won't be able to teach right away, can we expect to rent something reasonable in a nice area for under $2000? Which areas would you suggest? It doesn't need to be in Holtsville, but a reasonable commute would be nice. Any suggestions would be so appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-23-2010, 12:52 AM

11,033 posts, read 9,557,522 times
I know everything about L.I., grew up there, taught college there, and sent two children to public schools there. They are good students and are thriving in PA. But LI really does have so much to offer the educationally minded, sophisticated transplant.

I am sure you are aware that LI is expensive. That said I will tell you what expensive place is best and why. Really none are inexpensive so you might as well live in the best area.

My suggestion is Three Village School District. This district encompasses the villages of Stony Brook,
Setauket, East Setauket, Old Field, Poquot, and parts of Port Jefferson.