U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Long Island
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 12-21-2009, 09:30 AM

270 posts, read 567,877 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone! We recently bought a house that has trex decking. I am new to trex, and after all the shoveling of the driveway we were to tired to even attempt shoveling the snow off the deck.

Is it bad to leave the snow on trex? Will it ruin the deck? The deck won't collapse will it?

I am wondering since I've never had one of these decks before
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-21-2009, 09:34 AM

3,536 posts, read 4,450,153 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackie78 View Post
Hi everyone! We recently bought a house that has trex decking. I am new to trex, and after all the shoveling of the driveway we were to tired to even attempt shoveling the snow off the deck.

Is it bad to leave the snow on trex? Will it ruin the deck? The deck won't collapse will it?

I am wondering since I've never had one of these decks before

You need to get every crumb of snow off it, even if it means taking the spouse's toothbrush and cleaning out the crevices and putting it back without telling them what you did.

Nah, should be fine. They're just as sturdy as a regular deck, if not stronger. Unless it was built by a dummy. If its attached to the house, I would clear it off just to give you another way to get out of the house and into the side or back yard (depending on where it is).