U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-23-2010, 03:09 PM

1 posts, read 2,521 times

Advertisements

So, I'm a Massachusetts driver, with a MA license and MA plates. I was caught speeding in Malibu the other night, going 62 in a 45. Foolish, I know. Anyway, the ticket doesn't have the actually cost of the fine on it.

So, I've been reading up but I came to this site and figured I'd ask for your advice.

1. What do you think the cost of the fine will be around?
2. Is this type of ticket one that is typically eligible for traffic school?
3. Is traffic school even open to out of staters?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-23-2010, 04:05 PM

5,007 posts, read 7,667,645 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by redundant View Post
So, I'm a Massachusetts driver, with a MA license and MA plates. I was caught speeding in Malibu the other night, going 62 in a 45. Foolish, I know. Anyway, the ticket doesn't have the actually cost of the fine on it.

So, I've been reading up but I came to this site and figured I'd ask for your advice.

Check the bottom of the citation - that may have the court's address on there - if it's the Malibu courthouse, you could call them on the phone in two weeks to see if the ticket has been sent over by the officer who cited you. A clerk at the courthouse can tell you the correct amount of the fine once the ticket is entered into the court's computer system.

I think you will be able to go to traffic school on that citation as long as you haven't been previously in the last 18 months.