U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-16-2011, 03:32 AM

1 posts, read 2,879 times

Advertisements

Hey all,

Another newbie looking for info on moving to LA to live the dream
I am a 22 yo female student from Paris, France, and I just landed a three-month internship in LA starting in March. I've been to LA a couple times before, but only in passing, so now I'm looking for advice on housing!

My workplace is located in Mid-Wilshire (it's actually on Wilshire Blvd, zip code 90036). What are some good neighborhood options for living, with decent commute, safety, and amenities (I only need a grocery store, really)? I saw in some other threads that Mid-Wilshire itself was being suggested, as well as Koreatown.

Since I am only staying three months, I doubt I'll be getting a car, so would have to rely on public transportation and/or getting a bike (I've done Paris traffic, I think I can survive anywhere!). I am also looking at the possibility of getting a motorcycle (I mean why not go for the complete Western US cliche right?), in which case I could afford to live a bit further from work, but I have to see whether I'd be able to get a Cali license, which is subject to visa restrictions.