U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

View Poll Results: Should I move to New York, Hollywood (LA), or remain in Chicago?
New York 3 15.00%
Hollywood(LA) 12 60.00%
Chicago 5 25.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-02-2011, 07:49 AM

5 posts, read 9,454 times

Advertisements

My story is I'm a 20 year old aspiring hip-hop artist born and raised in Chicago, IL, looking to further my career and accomplish my dream of succeeding in the music business. I've been rapping for over 7 years, built a fairly decent online presence, and even met with prominent record labels such as Def Jam, Universal, and G-Unit Records. However, sadly I haven't been able to build a buzz or win over the support of my hometown (Chicago) for some reason. Iím a former high school dropout but as a result of tough times these past few years I decided enough was enough and enrolled in school, recently taking the GED test (I am waiting on the results now). After doing some research online I've found two schools "The Institute of Audio Research" in New York and "The Musicians Institute" in Hollywood that I'm very interested in attending! Now I live with my mom (who is sick and a struggling single mother who works part time) in Chicago. My dad does live in New York but he isnít supportive at ALL when it comes to my music career, but he does promise to help me get on my feet (don't know if I believe him or not LOL). I don't really know anyone in Hollywood/LA but from what I've heard it is a great place to be that many others like me have become s