U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-17-2012, 09:12 PM

6 posts, read 9,174 times

Advertisements

Moving from east coast to LA in about a month and I'm looking into advice for areas to live in.

I've read a lot of the other articles similar to this but since every situation is different I figured I would post my own criteria and see what you all recommend. (commute is not an issue - work from home)

I'm hoping to keep my budget $1400 and under for a studio/1 bedroom apartment. I'm a young recent graduate so I would like some nightlife and an area where I could meet new people (won't be going to bars by myself, however) but don't necessarily need all the hip upscale clubs, just anywhere with a general decent nightlife/bar scene or at least relatively close & drivable. Also would like maybe some trendy restaurants/coffee shops in the area.

Safety is also an issue. I've lived in NYC so I know big cities and how to stay safe but I definitely want to feel safe where I live if I come home late at night and stuff so that's a top criteria. I'm hoping for a complex with a decent amount of rentals inside (don't want a building where just 3 or 4 people live). Maybe some young people that live in the complex but that's not a big deal.

What I'm thinking so far is: Burbank, Sherman Oaks, Studio City, Santa Monica, WeHo, or Pasadena.