Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-08-2013, 10:07 AM

1 posts, read 1,246 times

Advertisements

Hi there,

I am 32 years old professional female living in London, who is going to stay in LA for 3 months and I am trying to figure out what place near the beach would be ideal for me to stay. I am a journalist/photographer looking for an inspiration. I guess Venice is a great place, but a no foe me as I am not enough of a Bohemian, I am straight and I don't enjoy partying. But I've never been to Venice, this is the impression that I am getting and I am opened to learn more about interesting places. I love Santa Monica for a week trip, but it might be a bit too expensive for 3 months and a bit touristy. Is that so?

It probably sounds boring, but I don't like too much buzz; I love people though; interesting and intelligent and good laugh. I prefer jazz over house music. I love galleries and healthy lifestyle, yoga, tennis, beach volleyball. Bars Yes, clubs NO.
I want to learn how to surf- overcome my fear. I would love to live near the beach, it has always been my dream. Apart of the fact that I very much like chilled out, laid back and down to earth people, I also have a 1000-1200USD per month budget for renting a room in a nice and safe neighbourhood. Is that even possible and if yes so- would you know what would be the best part of LA for me? As for commuting, I will often go to West Hollywood and downtown, about three times a week.

Any opinion would be much appreciated... Thank you,