U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-06-2009, 11:38 AM

3 posts, read 7,989 times

Advertisements

Hello! I've been a long time lurker, but this is my first time posting to these forums. I hope someone can help me.

I've decided to move to Los Angeles. I'm 24 years old, and I feel like my life has started to stagnate while living in Maryland. Sure I could move anywhere in the country and probably shake things up a bit, but I've always loved the feel of LA and loved that there is always something interesting to do. Luckily, my company has an office in San Pedro and will be able to support a relocation for me in early May.

So while I do have a job in the city, I am having difficulty finding a nice area to live. The real issue is that I have many good friends (and a serious girlfriend) living in the Hollywood/Koreatown area, and I'll probably want to be there every evening if possible.

So here are my requirements for a place to live:
- Nicer area where my property won't be vandalized or stolen on a weekly basis
- max $1350/month rent for myself, would consider finding a roommate
- max $280/month in transportation costs (fuel and/or metro pass)
- max 1.5hr in car or metro per day, would prefer to metro if not significantly longer (San Pedro for work daily, Hollywood for friends almost daily)
- Want to live near a LOT of interesting stuff. I'm into tech/nerdy things, art, music, and good food. :P