U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-07-2009, 02:05 PM

6 posts, read 10,485 times

Advertisements

I've been a math teacher for several years in Virginia now and I am considering going to Los Angeles because my fiance lives there. However my Dad (who lives in Maryland ironically) says that because I'm white and don't know any Spainsh that I could be subject to racism and that I am putting myself in "mortal danger" if choose to move and work there. I'm sure he is exaggerating and is not aware of the real truth, so that is why I am asking, what is the real truth about LA schools right now? My Dad has also warned me about corrupt teacher unions there.

Of course I should be grateful that I am being interviewed there too. Even in these economic times I guess math teachers are still in need because I was called for an interview 3 days after I filled out the application.

Any information would be appreciated thanks.
Quick reply to this message

Old 03-07-2009, 02:32 PM

11,151 posts, read 13,805,891 times
There are several school districts in addition to LAUSD, so don't confine yourself just to them. Licensure may be your biggest concern, as California doesn't seem to have reciprocity with ANYone ...

Old 03-07-2009, 03:15 PM

Well I am sure that they have ways to allow people to change their license from one state to California, I am Virginia certified myself.

Old 03-07-2009, 03:33 PM

11,151 posts, read 13,805,891 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinCredible8 View Post