U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-18-2009, 10:48 PM

7 posts, read 14,311 times

Advertisements

I'm a student in College doing Hospitality Management with Business - one day I want to set up a business in the Los Angeles Area, Anaheim etc.

So my question is, what's the best type of business to invest in Los Angeles?

Nightclubs? Bed and Breakfast? Retail Stores? Spa's?

Any feedback and opinions are appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-19-2009, 12:07 AM

2,871 posts, read 4,463,619 times
A brick and mortar business is a gamble, as your teachers have probable told you. You're probably aware of the failure rates of restaurants/bars. What I would investigate first is an outdoor mall cart. I know carts for indoor malls are rather expensive. I think a lot of people would be surprised: up to $5K/month, then up to $12K/month during the holidays. But the returns can be fantastic if you have a product that sells, compared to a retail store in a poor traffic neighborhood. Nevermind the difference in cost to actual mall real estate.