U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-20-2010, 01:19 PM

13 posts, read 14,993 times

Advertisements

I have the opportunity to relocate, I have 32 cities to choose from and I have narrowed my options down to the following which interest me:

New Orleans

Houston

Charlotte

Atlanta

LA

Bay Area

I am soo confused. I am a 27 year old single African American Female currently residing in Cleveland, OH and I am a Special Education Teacher. I am looking for a city that is filled with entertainment (clubs/bars, music, comedy, plays, sports, arts) and culture. Cost of living and good weather is also important to me.

If you can provide any information or comparison on these cities It would be a great help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-20-2010, 02:34 PM

736 posts, read 1,960,958 times
For weather, culture, and entertainment I think LA and San Francisco are VERY GOOD. However, they are both VERY COSTLY. So keep that in mind.

Also, both LA and San Francisco are VERY DIVERSE in regards to them being international cities with people from all over the world. However, as you might already realize, the percentage of the population that is African-American in LA and SF is actually quite small as compared to Atlanta, Charlotte, and New Orleans. That doesn't mean you would not like them but just something to keep in mind.