U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-05-2010, 04:47 PM

4 posts, read 5,984 times

Advertisements

I'm new to this so please bear with me.....

I'm a young person (about to turn 24) who graduated from college 2 years ago and is currently working for the federal government (Dept of VA). I moved to Kentucky right after graduating to be closer to family, however after living here for two years I have found that its definitely not a place I can live long term. I'm from the west coast, and I find that most people my age have completely different values that I can't relate to at all. I'm looking to start fresh elsewhere.

I'm thinking about moving back to the west coast, specifically LA, but I'm not totally familiar with the city (I've only been there a handful of times). There are a few people I grew up with who live there, and they love it, which kind of convinced me that maybe it would be a good choice. Working for the VA I also have the option to transfer there, so finding employment isn't an issue.

However, after reading some posts on here about LA I'm not so sure about it anymore...alot of people seem to hate it there, and it sounds like if you aren't rich the quality of life is pretty poor. It also sounds like finding a job in the entertainment industry is about as likely as winning the lottery...and if you manage to be lucky enough you are treated like a slave...which sucks because that's what I wanted to do.