U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Kentucky > Louisville area
 [Register]
Louisville area Jefferson County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-09-2016, 03:52 PM

8 posts, read 5,024 times

Advertisements

Hi. I'm a 22 y/o male and I just found out that I will be moving to Louisville area for work in early/mid March. I'm an engineer for a large company, and rotate to work on different projects at different facilities around the country every 8-10 months, so I will only be in the Louisville area until late November/early December. I lived in Upstate NY (Saratoga area) most of my life, went to college in Rhode Island, and have lived and worked in Columbus, OH since June.

I've never been to Louisville, but plan on making a trip in January to look at some apartments and I have absolutely no idea where or what areas to look at. I will actually be working in Shelbyville, so that could help possibly narrow it down to some areas. The shorter commute the better, but I know that I'll probably have to drive at least 30 minutes to work. The only two places that I have heard of are an apartment complex called LC Idlewild (the have mutliple places in Columbus and have a great reputation) and an area called Norton Commons. If anyone has suggestions of areas or complexes to look at that are more popular with young professionals please let me know! I don't need to live right in downtown or anything, but also don't want to live in the middle of nowhere. I know nobody in the area so any help would be appreciated. Fortunately, my budget is pretty flexible due to getting a relocation and living stipend. Thanks for the help!