U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Wisconsin > Madison
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 10-30-2011, 11:01 AM

16 posts, read 24,602 times

Advertisements

I'm a 33 year old single young professional who is excited to have a great new job based in the Madison region. I'm a field sales manager so I will travel throughout western Wisconsin and Madison is the best area for me.

I've found it quite surprising how few condos or apartments in Madison fit my bill (under $250,000, allow a medium sized dog, have an open loft feel, have "character" instead of cookie-cutter amenities).

I think I've located a great little development in Middleton - a loft that's in my price range, will allow my dog, has a balcony, exposed brick, high ceilings, tons of character. I have not been able to find a comparable place in Madison.

My only dilemma is that I was eager to network and date in Madison (single, know nobody) and I worry that being out in Middleton might isolate me to the extent where my social life suffers. I am at a stage in my life where I am unwilling to risk a DUI, so if the only social scene is 15 minutes away in Madison I would be limited to 2 drinks or so for the entire night

Would I be able to have fun in Middleton? Do they have young professionals organizations or any semblance of nightlife? Do single kids in the mid to late 20's and early 30's buy in Middleton?

Thanks much.
Quick reply to this message

Old 10-30-2011, 02:35 PM

5,685 posts, read 5,638,476 times