U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Wisconsin > Madison
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-09-2009, 01:15 PM

11 posts, read 16,401 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone-

I am a single professional - have been a homeowner for 16 of the last 17 years - who will be relocating to Madison this summer to start a job at UW. Although I may buy in the next few years, I plan to rent till I know the area better. I've been to Madison but it was years ago (I'm originally from Chicago). Right now I live in Reno and I rent a 2/2.5 townhome with a garage, central air, all appliances and W/D for $1000 a month. Since it appears that I will not be able to park on campus and will be taking a pay decrease with my new job, I'm hoping someone can help me find something under $800/mo near a bus line in a nice part of town. I don't want to share housing and really want covered parking, a/c, and in-unit laundry. I know I'm asking a lot but after being an owner you get used to creature comforts. Also any info on best areas for a quiet single person would be great. I don't need to be downtown, but also don't want to be out in the "boonies" Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-09-2009, 05:37 PM

62 posts, read 121,399 times
In this town, most of the places with in-unit laundry and covered parking for $800 is going to be in the boonies. In fact, most apartments don't have covered parking until you get to the boonies.

Old 07-10-2009, 12:25 AM