U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maine
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-04-2012, 10:29 AM

3 posts, read 10,730 times

Advertisements

My husband and I have been talking about moving to Maine pretty much since we met almost 10 years ago, following in the footsteps of my grandparents, who have successfully lived "off the grid" in Maine since their retirement.

We just recently had our first child, and we would love to bring him up in Maine, with lots of fresh air and freedom. We can't stand the congestion and unhealthy stress levels of our current city lifestyle, and we definitely don't want to go the typical soulless suburbia route either.

But, we don't want to live TOO remotely now that we have him -- and my family lives in Massachusetts, so southern Maine is more practical for us for now. We also want to make sure the schools are good, and while we love the idea of a more rural lifestyle we want to make sure it is not an area that is too provincial/parochial.

We happened to stop by South Berwick very briefly, to check out the Hamilton House, and from what we saw of the town itself, it was a very pretty and there was a beautiful winding river. We briefly drove through the downtown area, but barely saw any of it.

Can anyone give me some honest insiders' info on South Berwick? (Or do you have suggestions for other southern Maine towns that are great for raising kids in?)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-08-2012, 01:24 PM

3,093 posts, read 5,422,768 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by maineboundgirl View Post