U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-07-2018, 08:39 AM

118 posts, read 47,454 times

Advertisements

Let me first say I'm not new to MD by any means. I graduated from UMD and visit the state fairly often. I will be wrapping up my post-bac teaching certification program in Massachusetts in early May. I had no choice but to complete the program in my home state due to the financial constraints of student teaching. While I'll always be proud of where I come from, I have been wanting to move permanently to Maryland for quite some time. Furthermore, I am afraid if I settle for a job near my hometown I will never leave and will come to regret it. If anyone could answer some of my questions that would be helpful.

Should I start applying for jobs in MD now even though I technically don't have the MD license yet? I've signed up for the necessary tests, if I indicate that on my application will it be enough to be taken seriously? I'd hate to apply now and not be taken seriously when I could have been hired simply by waiting until after taking the tests.

As I cannot take a day off from student teaching I cannot physically make it to any of the job fairs in the area and there are none where I am for Maryland schools. Should I cold call principals?