U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-26-2018, 12:17 AM

5 posts, read 2,503 times

Advertisements

Hello Forum,

I am a single black grad student working remote making about 52k a year. I’m looking to move to Maryland for graduate school next February. I am well aware of internet statistics but I would like information from people who actually live in the state. My research has left a lot of question since I can’t find a place that is not only diverse, relatively crime free but also in a relatively big city. I’m looking to spend $1,300 - $1,500 and live alone so I need some information about the difference between Laurel, Columbia and Northern Virginia. If someone could explain the type of people living there, safety and suggested zipcodes it would be extremely helpful. Also I’m looking at a school in Baltimore and Bowie, if that helps.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-26-2018, 04:19 AM

29,595 posts, read 64,197,745 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackqueen_ View Post
I am a single black grad student working remote making about 52k a year.
I’m looking to spend $1,300 - $1,500 and live alone...
What else do you want to have in your life?
$52K -20% (payroll deduct) -10% (save/invest) = $36,400 ÷52 = $ 700/wk NET

How many of those WEEKLY net checks do you want to spend on your MONTHLY housing costs?
I recommend only ONE (and including utilities).

Your idea of spending TWO weeks, nearly HALF of your monthly net...
lets say it isn't sustainable. In Maryland or anywhere else.

Quote: