Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-10-2011, 08:53 AM

24 posts, read 64,347 times

Advertisements

OK, I just need to preface this by saying I am new to Central MA and I LOVE it. Almost all of my neighbors have come by to introduce themselves, people in general have been very friendly, and I've felt more welcome here than in other places I've lived (southeast PA, upstate NY). But... is there some sort of issue with letting people merge around here? I work in an office park that merges onto Route 9 in Westborough. There is (obviously) no way to get onto Route 9 except to merge. Traffic on Route 9 at 5 o'clock is usually packed, cars moving slowly. So, I put my blinker on and try to get in line. The car behind me was not too happy about this. Honked the entire time. This happened to me again this morning. I needed to merge to take the exit to the Pike. Again, there was a long line. So I put my blinker on an attempted to merge. The person behind me honked, then tailgated me to the Pike entrance, swerved to get in front of me, then gave me a very angry finger as they sped ahead. I've honestly never had this problem before. Is it me???? Or it there some sort of hostility against mergers around here??? (only half joking.) I honestly need to know if there's an ettiquete factor I'm missing. I've never had this issue before and it's starting to bug me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-10-2011, 11:15 AM

2,310 posts, read 6,824,560 times