U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-24-2009, 06:06 PM

4 posts, read 7,133 times

Advertisements

I am wanting to relocate from Tucson, AZ to (somewhere in) MA sooner rather than later.

I have been researching non stop for the past two months. I feel as though I am not getting anywhere, and am not getting much help from people on the net either.
Originally I had thought of New Bedford or Fall River as a good place to go because of the cheap apartments, but as I dug further I found out about the high crime rate, drugs, prostitution, etc.

Here is what I need:
-Affordable housing (I am on an EXTREMELY tight budget. I am looking for $600/mo apartments or less). I realize that is extremely hard to come by unless you're in a crappy city or close to.
-Good transportation. I cannot afford a car at the moment so I would need to rely on bus/rail until I can afford a beater.
-Relatively low crime rate (I'm more concerned with hate crimes against my partner and I as I don't really own anything great to steal).

All that being said, please refrain from derogatory comments as those aren't really helpful.

Just looking to get out of this hellhole so I can actually start my life in a place with my soon to be wife.