U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Memphis
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-02-2007, 01:36 PM

9 posts, read 21,534 times

Advertisements

I am planning to move to Tennessee in May. I have a choice between Nashville and Memphis. My son will be in the 9th grade. Can anyone tell me which would be safer, have better schools, better hospitals? I am a nurse and my specialty is pediatrics. I would appreciate any help anyone can offer. Thanks.

Last edited by boeckami; 09-02-2007 at 01:52 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-02-2007, 05:40 PM

100 posts, read 424,272 times
Obviously, your micro-enviroment is much more important than the over all city, and many people are happy in Memphis, but over all, Nashville is a much safer, better quality of life city.
Sadly the political leadership is so corrupt in Memphis, it has allowed nearly every part of the city to deteriorate, but especially in the area of crime, where Memphis is consistently number 2 in violent crime, and the public schools are horrible.

Old 09-02-2007, 07:55 PM

Thank you for your response. I have never posted anything online before and I am trying to figure this out as I go. I am a single Mom and so safety and schools are really important. It is so hard to make a decision without being able to go and check out both cities. I am currently in Phoenix for 1 year. Thanks again. I really appreciate your input.

Old 09-03-2007, 10:39 AM

3,381 posts, read 11,808,842 times