Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Memphis
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-11-2007, 08:29 PM

2 posts, read 13,508 times

Advertisements

I'm a K-6 elementary teacher who will be moving from East Tennessee to Memphis next summer because my husband will be attending UT. We're both willing to communte but I don't know what school systems to look at. From what I've read on hear I need to steer clear of Memphis City schools. I plan on applying in Shelby County though. What school districts around Memphis and in Arkansas and Mississippi should I consider?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-11-2007, 09:12 PM

3,371 posts, read 13,322,584 times
Anything but Memphis City...you could get a job there easy, but it can be really dangerous. It's harder to get on in the other school districts because that is where everyone wants to teach.

Old 12-12-2007, 01:19 PM

1,703 posts, read 6,290,130 times
Many teachers here go the private school route and take less money for doing so. With regard to public schools, I would suspect that the DeSoto and Shelby districts--especially DeSoto with its fast-growing population--probably have plenty of jobs.

Old 12-12-2007, 05:20 PM

376 posts, read 1,772,859 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacw22 View Post