U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Miami
 [Register]
Miami Miami-Dade County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-11-2011, 05:46 PM

1,003 posts, read 1,437,869 times

Advertisements

Hey all,

I'm a 28 year old Italian woman with lighter skin. I've read some stories on this board concerning racism in Miami. Is it true I will be a minority in Miami? Do other ethnic groups discriminate and demonstrate open racism towards people who appear "white"? Also, I am studying spanish and know a little bit to get by. Is it true to get hired anywhere in Miami I need to be fluent? Are there many bartending/hotel/hospitality/cocktailing jobs available? How's the economy?

I'm in Chicago and hate the winters. I'm considering relocating to Miami. Any thoughts and opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Rate this post positively

Old 01-11-2011, 05:56 PM

4,946 posts, read 9,068,725 times
Unless you are 7 feet tall, pale skinned, Smoked gray blond hair, with gray yellowish eyes and tall necked, you won't pass as white in Miami. So you'll fit in here like any other person, no matter where you go.

Old 01-11-2011, 05:58 PM

2,113 posts, read 4,634,306 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragazza2011 View Post
Hey all,